Upton Primary School

Your new design will be uploaded in:
Please contact Delivery Team on
0113 3200 750 if you have any queries.

Areas of Learning


The Early Years curriculum is organised into 7 areas of learning:


  • Personal, Social and Emotional Development - this involves helping children to form positive relationships and develop respect for each other; to develop social skills and learn how to manage their feelings; to understand appropriate behaviour and have confidence in their own abilities.
  • Physical Development - this involves helping children to develop their co-ordination, control and movement; to understand the importance of physical activity and to make healthy choices in food in order to live a healthy lifestyle.
  • Communication and Language - this involves helping children to develop their confidence and skills to express themselves effectively; to experience a rich language environment; and to speak and listen in a range of situations.
  • Literacy - encouraging children to link sounds and letters; to begin to read and write; and to develop a love of reading and a wide range of stories.
  • Maths - this involves helping children to count, understand and use numbers, calculate simple addition and subtraction problems, and to describe shape, space and measures.
  • Understanding the World - involves helping children to make sense of the world around them and their community by exploring, observing and finding our about people, places, technology and the environment.
  • Expressive Arts and Design - involves enabling children to explore a range of media and materials and to share their thoughts, feelings and ideas through art, music, movements, dance, role-play and design and technology.